Bronx Style

by

Every year, I go out to New York to visit my family. After spending 30 seconds in the city, it’s easy to see why it is one of the world’s fashion capitals. And living between 5th and 6th Avenue doesn’t hurt. But, because New York City is one of the largest cities in the world, it is hard to pinpoint one exact “NYC style.” That’s why, this summer, I really wanted to try and find what makes each borough’s style unique.
 
The first stop on my New York trip was the Bronx. So, after getting up at 4:00 a.m. and watching a man attempt to take a large pipe wrench through security, I arrived in the city and hopped on the subway to Fordham Road. There, I saw a wide range of generations and heritages mixed together to form a community unlike any other in NYC. The highlight of my trip was being seated at a little Italian café behind a table with four big Italian men speaking Italian, but cursing in English. I felt like I was in a scene from The Sopranos.
 
Anyway, back to fashion. I saw that while a lot of people wearing black and white basics, people added a pop of color in their accessories or focal point in their outfit. Neon was very popular, taking hints from recent RTW Fall fashion shows.
 
I also noticed that people chose sneakers over heels. And, keeping with the bright ’80s colors trend, people wore sneakers with bright laces and neon prints along the sides.
 
As for jewelry, I didn’t see a lot of it, but when I did, it was always big bangles and gold hoop earrings.

The Bronx Fashion

 The Bronx Fashion by sophie1632 featuring Bullhead jeans

That’s all from the Bronx. Next stop—Midtown and the Guggenheim.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

