“Quite Fierce”

by

via Kitmeout

Stella McCartney’s new ad campaign is certainly whimsical. The blogosphere seems a little baffled by it right now. My first reaction was favorable – it’s adorable, it’s quasi-environmental, and it’s Disney, after all.

stellamccartney_bambi_aw200910_1

stellamccartney_bambi_aw200910_2

When putting this post together, I realized that I really hadn’t, well, looked at the clothes. It’s a topic often debated in advertising classes – is an ad truly good if you can’t remember the product? Upon further examination, I saw that Stella McCartney’s idea made sense:

I’m a huge Bambi fan, and the film reminds me of my mum… And we wanted to have some fun. The clothes in the campaign are looking quite fierce, and we wanted to contrast them with the innocence of Bambi.

Unfortunately, I’m getting “fun” and “innocent” more than fierce from this campaign. I think the colors for the cartoon characters are too bright, the model’s outfit too muted.

What do you think about this campaign, and should anything have been done differently?

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to ““Quite Fierce””

  1. Sarah Says:

    It’s a bit too gimmicky – and if she truly wanted to call attention to environmental/animal rights issues, it’s an awfully roundabout way of doing so (especially for her)
    P.S. – Your blog is amazing.

  2. Patricia Ann Says:

    For some reason, I’m not loving these all too much. I felt that Stelle could have done better. I just feel that the entire scenario was too distracting for it to actually work.

Leave a Reply

