Meet the “Gaudy” Girls: Deborah

by

Deborah photoGet to know Deborah, the co-owner and CEO of Avant Gaudy.

Where are you from? Where do you live now?
I was born in Nigeria, though have spent much of my life here in the Midwest!

What is your profession/major?
I attend the University of Chicago and I study Political Science. I’m also very excited about fashion and run Avant Gaudy.

 

Personal aspirations:
I hope to live in the following cities in the following order: New York, London, Paris, Hong Kong, Berlin and Rio De Janeiro.

Professional goals:
I would like to become the CEO of a major fashion retailer such as Barneys – or create my own!

Favorite movies?
I love so many movies that I think it’s easier to just list categories. In order: French New Wave, New German Cinema and Scandinavian directors such as Ingmar Bergman and Roy Andersson. I am currently trying to watch every movie in the Criterion Collection

What T.V. shows are you currently watching/still addicted to?
With all the movies I watch, I don’t have time for TV!

What kind of music do you like? What bands are you listening to?
I love bands that sound like Sonic Youth. Particularly, I am a big fan of the Secret Machines and Blonde Redhead. My all-time favorite song is “Loved Despite of Great Faults” by Blonde Redhead. They’re incredible to watch live!

Favorite/essential book?
Books are like movies for me; better explained in categories. In this case I go by author. I love everything by Foucault, Sartre, Camus, Nabokov and Toni Morrison.

What do you like to do for fun?
As anyone who knows me knows, I love to eat cupcakes. Does that count as a hobby?

Favorite Designer?
Helmut Lang, Alber Ebaz and Alexander Wang.

Deborah's favorite designers

Favorite fashion/beauty magazine?
I read WWD every day.
 
Favorite clothing item/accessory that you own?
I can’t live without black pants.

How would you describe your personal style?
“Sarah, Plain and Tall.”

One thing you’ll never wear?
Sweatpants in public or Uggs in the winter. No matter how cold it is in Chicago!

What is your most recent purchase?
I haven’t shopped for myself in months — I can’t remember!

Do you have any style rules?
Black is always appropriate.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
Any major city with reliable transit and a diversity of restaurants!

Obsessed with/can’t live without?
My iPhone.

Your perfect day?
It hopefully involves reading a good book and a long bike ride along the lakefront.

Guilty pleasure?
I could eat cupcakes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I know this for a fact because I have tried.

cupcakes :)

Favorite food/drink?
Anything I can cook at home, and I am a fan of cold water.

What are you an expert at?
(Very) random political theory.

Favorite Animal?
Stray cats.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Meet the “Gaudy” Girls: Deborah”

  1. Fashion Merchandising Says:

    Thats an informative blog about yourself…

Leave a Reply

