The Next Big Thing – The fall of MySpace?

by

 When I first discovered MySpace my junior year of high school, I knew I had to have one. Being the computer geek that I am, I was always up on the newest Internet trends. The first site I was into was the AOL Hometown community, a place where you could create a homepage without having to understand HTML. Next, I became interested in the links that you could put into your Buddy Info on AIM, allowing you to have a bigger profile. Then came Xanga, which was my first encounter with a blog, although at the time I had no idea what a blog actually was. But nothing was like MySpace. 
 
All my friends were on MySpace. I spent hours a day on it, writing comments on friends’ profiles, adding pictures and filling out countless “about me” surveys. MySpace was the coolest thing I had ever seen as long as I had been on the Internet (about 12 years, which is a long time considering my age!) There was no doubt in my mind that MySpace would be around for a long time.

Which social network do you prefer?

Although it’s still one of the most popular social networking websites out there, it’s quickly losing popularity, especially to Facebook. I was very surprised to see that MySpace recently announced that they would be laying off 400 workers—nearly 30%—of its current staff.

It just puts some perspective on the whole social networking craze. Right now, Facebook is the most popular site of its kind with 200 million users worldwide, and personally, I don’t see how it can get any better, or how any competitor could beat it. But, as I saw with MySpace, there’s always something bigger and better just around the corner. So what’s going to take down Facebook? Will it be Twitter? Something else?

What social networks are you using?  Do you like one better than the other?  Let us know what you think in our comment section.

Check out the Avant Gaudy facebook page or follow us on Twitter.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

