Meet the “Gaudy” Girls: Sarah D.

by

Sarah D. at the Avant Gaudy showroomGet to know Sarah D., the Avant Gaudy Public Relations intern.

Where are you from? Where do you live now?
I grew up in New Lenox, Illinois (by Joliet, an hour southwest of the city), surrounded by cornfields. I knew I had to escape somehow, and enrolled in Loyola University Chicago in the fall of 2007.

What is your profession/major?
I’m an Advertising/Public Relations major at Loyola.

Professional goals?
I want to continue doing public relations, concentrating on the arts. I danced for over ten years and find it too difficult to pursue a career in something I’m not interested in. Becoming an entrepreneur may happen, or it may not. I’ll see what happens.

What TV shows are you currently watching/still addicted to?
I’m still addicted to Pushing Daisies, even though the last show aired a couple of weeks ago. The style of the show was beyond gorgeous. I might have to steal Anna Friel’s wardrobe.

Chuck
Chuck by deuxS featuring Betsey Johnson accessories

What kind of music do you like? What bands are you listening to?
I like mostly country/folk music. I guess I’ve always liked story songs. Right now, I’m listening to Vienna Teng and Rodney Crowell. I guess my favorite song is Tanglewood Tree by Dave Carter and Tracy Grammer.

Favorite/essential book?
Reason for Hope by Jane Goodall.

Favorite Designer?
I’m still fascinated by how Christian Dior changed the industry in the 1940s and still like some of their current designs. And Betsey Johnson’s stuff is just too much fun.

Favorite clothing item/accessory that you own?
A cream color, ¾ sleeve cardigan with pink and white rhinestones and a pearl button. One of my friends got it for me for Christmas, and I was amazed at how well she knew my style.

How would you describe your personal style? 
Fifties housewife meets prairie girl. I love cute button down shirts, cardigans and pearls, but also flowing tiered skirts and cowgirl boots.
 
One thing you’ll never wear?
Crocs, although interestingly enough, I gave a presentation on how to (theoretically) market them in Argentina last semester.

Style icon?
Scarlett Johansson, Victoria Beckham, Audrey Hepburn.

Sarah's Style Icons

Can’t live without?
The boyfriend. On a more materialistic level, tea.

Guilty pleasure?
TLC reality shows. From 18 Kids and Counting to The Man Whose Arms Exploded, it’s cable television at its best. I won’t share my opinion on the Gosselin split, though – that would take up an entire post.

What are you an expert of/random knowledge?
I wouldn’t use the term expert, but I’m fascinated by paleo-futurism – by how people thought we’d be living in the 2000s. Most of the predictions were humorous, but some were amazingly accurate.

What web site do you have to check everyday?
Fmylife. My whole family likes it, which sometimes makes for awkward dinner conversation.

Favorite Famous/Inspirational Quote:
“To be romantic about something is to see what you see and to wish for something entirely different. This requires magic.”
-George Balanchine

One Response to “Meet the “Gaudy” Girls: Sarah D.”

  1. Farmville Says:

    even though I have other opinion 0n s0me minor details I have to agree for a well written post. Keep up the very g00d work. Sorry for my hard english, Its non my first language

Leave a Reply

