Meet the “Gaudy” Girls: Adriane

by

Adriane & OranginaGet to know Adriane, the Avant Gaudy blog manager and Social Media Marketing Intern.

Where are you from?
Addison, IL

What is your profession/major?
I’m majoring in Fashion Design and Journalism at Dominican University in River Forest, IL. I’ll be a senior this fall.

Personal/professional goals?
Work at a fashion magazine. Become a film costume designer. Own a chinchilla. Move to Paris. I dream big.

 

Favorite movies?
There’s an infinite list. And I like an odd variety of films. An Inconvenient Truth. Benny and Joon. The Boondock Saints. Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Edward Scissorhands. Hocus Pocus. Legends of the Fall. Only You. Twister. And I can watch the same movie over and over again. Especially if it makes me laugh.

What kind of music do you like? What bands are you listening to?
I honestly don’t like a certain type of music. I’ve become addicted to film and TV soundtracks. I love anything Alexanda Patsavas chooses for TV/movies (The O.C, Grey’s Anatomy, Mad Men, Rescue Me, Gossip Girl, Twilight). Because of her, I’m currently addicted to Kings of Leon, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Muse, Manchester Orchestra, The Virgins and MGMT. And I love 90s techno and dance music because it makes me laugh and remember my childhood.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
Paris. For sure. I lived there for four weeks last summer and I’m desperate to go back. I could spend everyday sitting at a cafe, eating chocolate crepes.

Adriane at a her favorite cafe in Paris

Can’t live without?
Eyeliner.

Guilty pleasure?
The Real Housewives of New Jersey. I became addicted and watched all the episodes in one day.

What web sites do you have to check everyday?
Facebook.  And I must confess, Perez Hilton. He always knows everything first. I knew about the Christian Bale rant before it was cool. And I’ve become addicted to too many fashion blogs now I wouldn’t know where to start. 

Favorite Animal?
Chinchillas. They’re like rabbits with mouse ears. They’re amazing.

Favorite Designer?
Elie Saab. Always pretty. And Isaac Mizrahi. Because he makes me laugh.

Favorite magazine?
Vogue. And Entertainment Weekly. I never throw a good magazine away. So I’ve got quite the collection hiding underneath my bed.

Favorite clothing item/accessory that you own?
My black ballerina flats that I wore out beyond repair. I never wear them anymore but I refuse to get rid of them.

How would you describe your personal style?
In the moment – I tend to go through phases. I’m in a phase right now where I love to wear purple and gray and anything with ruffles or pleats.
Comfortable – I wear jeans and flats whenever I can.
Classic – I tend to not take risks. And when in doubt, I wear black or white.

One thing you’ll never wear?
Turtlenecks. I feel claustrophobic.

Style icon?
Blair Waldorf. I wish I went to high school on the Upper East Side. And I wish I dressed like that when I was in high school.

Blair Waldorf

Most recent purchase?
Headbands. Lots of them. With ridiculously large bows. And when I’m rich, I’m investing in a headband from Jennifer Behr.

Do you have any style rules or advice?
Wear whatever makes you happy. And make sure it fits you well.

Favorite Quote?
I love Oscar Wilde.
“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.”
“Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.”
“Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months.”

Tags:

One Response to “Meet the “Gaudy” Girls: Adriane”

  1. Flash Says:

    Perfect!

Leave a Reply

